Log In

Reset Password

Golf Roundup

If you have a story, tournament to promote or results you wish to have printed, contact The Gisborne Herald at 869-0633 or email sports@gisborneherald.co.nz

Electrinet Park

HISTORY was made at the Gisborne Thistle AFC annual golf tournament on Sunday when Min Vette became the first female to win the top overall trophy.

The Judy O’Rourke Memorial Trophy, honouring the late stalwart of Thistle AFC and Gisborne Park Golf Club, went to Vette, ending a long run of male victors.

Vette produced a round deserving of a champion — 89-23-66, for 43 stableford points.

A search of her extensive handicap history online indicates it was a career-best round.

Husband Lionel also had a good day, posting the top men’s stableford alongside several others including Kim Travers, who retained the Jennings Trophy for the least putts (28) after winning an 18th-hole putt-off against Anaru Reedy.

Reedy wasn’t disappointed. He already had the men’s gross title in his possession, courtesy of a 4-under 68.

Ellen Ball won the women’s gross with 78.

The other round of the day came from Shirley Paku — 96-28-68, for 41 points. This meant the top two overall stablefords were posted by women. That would have pleased Jude.

SUNDAY — Gisborne Thistle AFC open tournament, Judy O’Rourke Trophy for best overall stableford: M Vette 43.

Morley Trophy for best stableford by a Thistle-affiliated player: C Taewa 37.

Thistle non-golfer stableford: B Josling 36.

Men’s gross: A Reedy 68.

Women’s gross: E Ball 78.

Jennings Trophy for least putts: K Travers 28, A Reedy 28 (Travers defeated Reedy in a putt-off).

9-hole winners: P Thompson (women), D Bignell (men).

Men’s stableford: L Vette 39, K Travers 39, C Simpson 39, D Harrison 39, R Taylor 39, R Taylor 39, D Collier 38, S Toa 38, L Hayes 37, P Wellard 36, M Harbottle 36, S Phillips 36, G Thomson 36, L Hewson 36.

Women’s stableford: M Vette 43, S Paku 41, K White 39, J Muir 39, S Johnstone 37, P Johansen 36, B Woods 36, R Maloy 36.

Long drives: D Collier (men), C Pipi (women).

Approaches: R Chalmers (men), K White (women).

Straightest drives: B Cameron (men), J Akuhata-Nickerson (women).

Twos: R Chalmers, N Jones, E Ball, T Akroyd, A Reedy.

Saturday — Men’s stableford: E Parkin 39.

Twos: E Parkin.

TUESDAY (Jan 11) — Veterans’ stableford: G Williams 41, C Brown 40, B Cox 40, E Morley 40, A Lewington 39, P Koorey 39, E Parkin 38, C Carpendale 37, B Lumsden-Nicholls.

Twos: C Brown.

COMING UP: THURSDAYS, Digg It Gizzy 9-hole twilight every Thursday night.


KAHU Tamanui turned up the heat in round 2 of the Summer Cup series on Sunday.

Tamanui dominated the day with an outstanding 85-23-62, six shots clear of the field in the men’s division.His round included a two.

Ella Wynyard was best of the women, repeating her round 1 net 70 effort.

Uma Chambers set the pace in round 1 the previous Sunday with 67.

The final round is this Sunday.

SUNDAY — Summer Cup, round 2, men’s net: K Tamanui 62, S Te Rito 68, U Chambers 71, T Brown 72, L Green 72, A Coker 73.

Women’s net: E Wynyard 70, M Tuapawa 72, V Grace 74.

Twos: K Tamanui.

Sunday (Jan 9) — Summer Cup, round 1, men’s net: U Chambers 67, L Green 69, A Coker 69, S Te Rito 72, K Ruru 73, K Tamanui 74.

Women’s net: E Wynyard 70, M Tuapawa 70, V Grace 71.

Twos: A Coker.

COMING UP: SUNDAY, final round of Summer Cup.


JOE Blair’s net 73 was enough to earn him the Summer Cup title on Sunday.

Blair added it to his round 1 68 for a 141 total.

George Brown topped round 2 with 68, also winning the senior men’s net, while Colin Kirkpatrick won the junior men’s division with 70 and Jan Ewart the women’s section with 70.

SUNDAY — Summer Cup, round 2, net, senior men: G Brown 68, D Pohatu 73, S Pohatu 73, A Brodie 74, M de Luze 74.

Junior men: C Kirkpatrick 70, C Taylor 72, R Pardoe 73, J Blair 73, S Pittar 74.

Women’s net: J Ewart 70.

Twos: A Brodie, R Pardoe.

Jackpot: A Brodie.

Summer Cup winner (net over two rounds): J Blair 141.

FRIDAY — Meat pack 9-hole stableford, junior division: A Hindmarsh 20, S Skudder 20, P Summersby 20, S Pohatu 19, B Cameron 19.

Senior division: M White 22, B Williams 21, P Briant 20, B Tietjen 19, M Owen 18.