Log In

Reset Password

Surf lifesaving age group champions

WAIKANAE ran out clear winners of the Ralph Morse Shield Gisborne surf life saving championships on Saturday.

The overall age group champions were spread across all three Gisborne clubs.

Open females: Georgie Pitkethley (Waikanae), and Briana Irving (Waikanae), first equal; Christy Tate (Waikanae), 3; Lauren Pickett (Waikanae) 4.

Open males: Jack Keepa (Waikanae), 1; Seven Mapu (Waikanae) and Oska Smith (Waikanae), second equal: Nathan Proctor (Waikanae), 4.

Under-19 females: Briana Irving (Waikanae), 1; Edan Wilson (Waikanae), 2; Jessikah Fearnley (Midway), 3.

U19 males: Jack Keepa (Waikanae), 1; Dylan Bronlund (Midway), 2; Nathan Proctor (Waikanae) 3.

U17 females: Sophie Petro (Midway), 1; Jodiesha Kirkpatrick (Midway), 2; Jay Ryan-Emerre (Waikanae) 3.

U17 males: Angus Blair (Midway), 1; Jack Lepper (Midway), 2; Tyron Evans (Midway) 3.

U15 females: Chloe Kapene (Waikanae), 1; Hannah Webb (Wainui) 2; Nicola Bronlund (Midway) 3.

U15 males: Yahni Brown (Midway), 1; James Hamblyn (Midway), 2; Max Phillips (Waikanae) 3.

FIRST CLASS: The Gisborne surf lifesaving championships produced exciting racing like the mixed double ski action. While IRBs did not count for championship points their action was first-class. Pictures by Paul Rickard
CHARGING BACK: Silke McNaught, Oliver Shivnan and Connor Mitchell are pictured charging back to the beach.