Log In

Reset Password

Local excellence celebrated


Ticket sales are brisk for the celebration of Tairāwhiti sporting excellence.

The Bronwyn Kay Agency Sporting Excellence Awards will be held on February 11.

Sport Gisborne Tairāwhiti chief executive Stefan Pishief said it was exciting to bring the local sports community together to celebrate success after the awards could not be held last year.

“It's important to recognise the outstanding sporting successes and contributions that have been made by so many in our community,” he said.

“We're looking forward to a safe, entertaining night to celebrate the best that Tairāwhiti has to offer.”

The awards will be held at the Showgrounds Events Centre. Tickets are available from the Sport Gisborne Tairāwhiti office and cost $70 for an adult and $45 for those under 16, or $650 for a table with up to 10 guests.

Contributions from local sponsors and funders allow for the event to go ahead.

Pishief thanked local sponsors and the wider community for their ongoing support.

Due to the Covid Protection Framework and Tairāwhiti being in the orange setting, vaccine passes will be required to attend the awards night.

Nominees —

Bronwyn Kay Agency Sportsman of the Year: George Bridge (rugby), Tayler Reid (triathlon).

Gisborne District Council Sportswoman of the Year: Saffi Vette (surfing), Akayshia Williams (waka ama), Alicia Hoskin (kayaking).

Junior Sportsman of the Year: Seth McKay (speedway), Oscar Ruston (rowing), Jack Keepa (surf lifesaving).

Gisborne Herald Junior Sportswoman of the Year: Sydnee Andrews (judo), Briana Irving (surf lifesaving), Kelsey Teneti (rugby/hockey).

Masters Sportsperson of the Year: Vesna Radonich (waka ama), Debbie Hutchings (crossfit).

Enterprise Motor Group Sports Team of the Year: Kaiarahi Toa premier women (waka ama), Waikanae under-23 IRB team (surf lifesaving), Surf City Squash C Grade women (squash).

EIT Junior Sports Team of the Year: Oscar Ruston and Sacha Dewancker (rowing), Waikanae u19 IRB team (surf lifesaving), Poverty Bay Kayak Club u18 women's team (kayaking).

BDO Coach of the Year: Luke Jenkins (rowing), Stephen Sheldrake (triathlon), Emily Willock (kayaking).

Coates Associates Official of the Year: Amber Church (hockey), Ethan Ngarangione-Pearson (basketball).

River Oak Mews Club of the Year: Gisborne Boardriders Club, Horouta Waka Hoe, Wainui Surf Lifesaving Club.

Pak'nSave Community Impact: Gisborne Boardriders Club (Share the Stoke), Character Roofing Gisborne Search & Rescue Squad (community surf rescue services).

Turanga Health Event Excellence: #rungisborne Trail Run Series, Ngati Porou East Coast Rugby Football Union (NPECRFU Centenary), Poverty Bay Rugby Football Union (junior club finals and Heartland game versus NPEC).

Graham & Dobson Services to Sport: Kevin Lee (badminton), Mark Pearce (football).

RIDING THE WAVE: Alicia Hoskin, is among the finalists for the Gisborne District Sportswoman of the Year. Picture by Paul Rickard
OUT ON TOP: Saffi Vette comes off the surf with a smile. She is also in the running for the February Sportswoman of the Year award. Picture supplied
FRONT OF THE PACK: Tayler Reid in action in the triathlon. He is among the finalists for Sportsman of the Year. Picture by Hamish Collie
FOCUS ON THE GAME: George Bridge is also a nominee for Gisborne District Sportsman of the Year. NZ Herald picture