Log In

Reset Password

Best in forestry receive awards

The forestry industry was celebrated in front of a sell-out crowd on Friday night at the 2021 Eastland Forestry Awards.

More than 60 entries were received across 14 sections.

Ben MacArthur from Speirs Logging won the top award, Supreme Skilled Professional of the Year, after earlier winning the award for Faller Mechanised or Manual Excellence.

The full list of awards —

Skilled Professional of the Year (sponsored by Eastland Wood Council): Ben MacArthur (Speirs Logging).

Emerging Leader (sponsored by Ernslaw): Jess Bourke (Logic Forest Solutions).

Logistics Excellence (sponsored by Pacific Haulage): Samantha Harrison (ISO Ltd).

Woman in Forestry (sponsored by Blackstump Logging): Maria Jeffery (Stubbs Contractors Ltd). Runner-up: Henrietta Raroa (Rewi Haulage Logistics)

Outstanding Health and Safety (sponsored by ISO): Daniel Gray (Forest Management Solutions Ltd)Industry Support (sponsored by FICA): Hoana Materoa Rewi-Kururangi (Rewi Haulage Logistics).

Forestry and Establishment Excellence (sponsored by Competenz): Kilioni Tuakalau(Vailea Silviculture Ltd).

Faller Mechanised or Manual Excellence (sponsored by Forest Enterprises): Ben MacArthur (Speirs Logging). Runner-up: Peter Oliver (Stubbs Contractors Ltd).

Harvesting Excellence (sponsored by Summit): Mike Blazey (Stirling Logging).Runner-up: Izaac Davey (Lift Harvesting Ltd).

Cartage Excellence (sponsored by MITO): Kevin McKay (McKay Cartage). Runner-up: Steven Kent (Pacific Haulage Ltd).

Crew of the Year (sponsored by UDC): Speirs Logging. Runner-up: Wild Hog Logging.

Environmental Initiative Management (sponsored by Transdiesel): Forest Enterprises.

Roading Civil (sponsored by Eastland Port): Grant Walker (Raywood Contracting).

Outstanding Innovation Excellence (sponsored by JNL): Wayne Trafford (Aratu Forests Ltd).

• Click here for earlier story, published in Saturday's Gisborne Herald.

GOOD WORK: Dave Pardoe (left) won the special award for outstanding contribution to the industry at Friday night's 2021 Eastland Forestry Awards. He is pictured with Eastland Wood Council CEO Philip Hope. Picture by Stephen Jones Photography