Log In

Reset Password

Trophy celebrates and honours sporting bonds

A shared love of cricket is what’s behind this.

On Saturday, Campion College won the Naden-Taylor Trophy for competition against the Horouta Cricket Club for the first time in the trophy’s short history.

Named for the Naden family, three generations of whom were present for the Hope Cup clash, and the Taylor family, whose contribution to Horouta has been immense, the trophy is also played for in memory of the late Vaughan Thompson, a popular and keen Horouta cricketer who died this year.

Campion teacher and coach Mark Naden said: “It was nice that Horouta won the Naden-Taylor Trophy the first time it was played for — in a pre-season game — to honour Vaughan.

“This was Campion’s turn to honour Vaughan: we will carry a photo of him in our pocket every game this season. We also honoured Dad (Pat), who turned 85 this month.”

Pat Naden — a Poverty Bay Cricket Association life member and former president and a Poverty Bay Rugby Football Union former president — and grandson Matt were delighted with Campion’s great win and the camaraderie between the teams.

Greg Taylor, whose son Blake has represented Poverty Bay, and who played alongside daughter Phoebe and Blake for Horouta, spoke of the bond between the teams.

“Horouta-Campion games have always been special,” he said.

“I decided to acknowledge that spirit and sportsmanship, and asked Mark if he’d co-sponsor a trophy; it was designed by the Stone Studio,” Greg Taylor said.

“We’ve also set up the Brough-Thompson Trophy to acknowledge a player from Blake’s Cornwall team in Hastings, and of course Vaughan. The first match is to be played at season’s end.”

The last word goes to Pat Naden. He, sons Sean and Mark, and grandson Matt have all played for Campion: “We’ve got to encourage young people to play and guide them in the spirit of cricket. And we need older players to show them respect, so that those younger players continue to play the game.”

FOR THE LOVE OF THE GAME: With the Naden-Taylor Trophy are (from left) Pat Naden, Greg Taylor, Mark Naden, Blake Taylor and Matt Naden. Picture by Lacey Kerr