Log In

Reset Password

Good field for winter series


A wintry Sunday saw the Gisborne bmx club host their round of the Central Region Winter Series. A good field of riders from Hawke’s Bay, Tauranga and Taupo took on the local riders, with points scored going towards their club’s tally. These are added up over five rounds, with the club scoring the most points taking the trophy home.

9-10 boys

Walker Wallis (gs) was all class as he raced to four of five possible wins in this group. Reef Hillman showed plenty of style picking up a win and chased Walker in the other four motos. Brad 0’Connell-Bacon (gs) and Cooper Harvey rounded out the field.

11-12 mixed

Current NZ champ Tyler Waite (HB) raced out to a class win with Brock Harvey doing his best to keep him honest in second place. Willow Bourke (TGA) led home Lillia Blair (HB) Cory Carpendale (gs) and Asher McKnight (gs), who had a good battle all afternoon.

15 mixed

After a good battle, Tayla Arnold (tga) narrowly took top honours in this group with Zachary Arnold (tga), Ruby-Anne Smith (gs) and Konrad Troup (hb) hot on his back wheels. Kaitlyn Priest rounded out the group.

17-24 male

Dylan Lardelli (gs) had a clean sweep of wins over Ethan Rogers (gs), CJ Ingram (gs) and Jacob Bourke (tga).

35-39 male

Hawke’s Bay’s 1nz Jason Waite may have taken round honours narrowly but 2NZ JT Nepia (GS) was pushing him all the way, picking up some good results. Shane Richardson (gs) rode well to finish in 3rd, with Chris Cresswell (tga), Jason Troup (hb) and Zane Alexander (hb) rounding out the class.


Austin Garside rode off for five wins with Mason Rennie (gs) chasing well and finishing in 2nd. Lennie Richardson (gs) and Emmie Fitzharris-Steve had some close battles in 4th and 5th, as did Heze Walker, Pippa Spence (gs), Maddie Smith (gs), Damien Smith and Cameron Wallis (both gs).

8 boys

Timothy Cresswell (tga) raced off to five wins with William Johnston-Priest and Jakob Rennie (GS) chasing hard in 2nd and 3rd. Stephen Bennett, Blake Carpendale and Toby Smith (gs) all raced well.

9 girls

Reave Nepia-Anderson (gs) took out the round win with sister Asher chasing hard in 2nd place. Maya Perrett (tga) raced well for 3rd place. Brooke McMillan, Anna Spence (gs) and Summer Richardson (gs) all rode well.

30-plus WOMEN

Kyla Newton (gs) raced off to a good race win over club mates Sherilyn Anderson and Jude Halley. Taupo’s Helena Harvey rode well in 4th.

35-plus Male Cruiser

Zane Alexander (hb) took a narrow round win from Greg Hughes (tga). Matt Harvey (tpo) chased well for 3rd overall, followed closely by David Bacon (gs), Chris Cresswell (tga) and Rob Graham (gs).

Junior super class

1NZ Tyler Waite took the win from Brock Harvey and Willow Bourke in five quick races.

Intermediate super class

Tayla Arnold took a clean sweep from Ruby-Anne Smith, Konrad Troup and Zachary Arnold in five close motos.

Senior Super Class

Jakub Bourke took a narrow win from Jason Waite with Jason Troup rounding out the group.


This series, over three of the rounds an inter-club sidehack challenge is being run. Crews from the four regional clubs took to the three-wheeled, two person bikes over three races. After some good fun on the track, team Gisborne took a narrow lead over Hawke’s Bay, Tauranga and Taupo.

Our next club meet is this Sunday, with racing from 3pm and sign-on from 2.45pm. Check the Gisborne bmx Facebook page for updates.

File picture