Log In

Reset Password

Poverty Bay district golf roundup

Gisborne ParkTHE top qualifiers and the defending champions face potentially hazardous challenges in their round of 16 clashes of the Te Kanawa Cup men’s pairs this weekend.

Top seeds Brad Reynolds and Tony Leggett and 2017 winners Geoff Hill and Anthony Pahina were among the 11 combinations who had a bye in the first round.

Their matchplay campaigns start this Sunday, with Leggett and Hill facing the wiley Evan Parkin and Horst Schreiber, and Hill and Pahina taking on father and son Danny and Zane Boyle — the latter having shot 77-11-66 in his last 18 holes.

The match of the weekend, however, could be Leo Lexmond and Derek Craven versus Pete Cameron and Chum Aramakutu.

Electrinet Park results, SUNDAY — Men’s approach: S Peneha.

Men’s best second shot: S Peneha.

Women’s best third shot: J Akuhata-Nickerson.

Women’s stableford: W Morrissey 34.

Twos: W Morrissey.

TUESDAY (April 10) — Veteran men’s stableford: D Maloy 42, B Atkins 40, D Tarry 37, M Hutton 36, G Sharp 36, E Parkin 36, P Mitchell 36.

Round 2 of the Te Kanawa Cup men’s pairs matchplay is on this weekend. The draw is — SATURDAY, No.1 tee, 8.54am: Z Rolls/R Taylor v C Palmer/P Wellard.

SUNDAY, No.1 tee, 8am: R Kelso/J Glassford v D Harrison/B Watene.

9am: B Reynolds/T Leggett v E Parkin/H Schreiber. 9.06: G Hill/A Pahina v Z Boyle/D Boyle. 9.12: M Hutton/G McKinnon v R Moore/T Hill. 9.18: B Atkins/W McHugh v C Nepe/J Collier. 9.24: R Callaghan/J Bright v S Peneha/Q Peneha. 9.30: L Lexmond/D Craven v P Cameron/C Aramakutu.

PatutahiWAYNE Baty dealt only in pars and bogeys in the men’s net on Sunday . . . 13 pars and five bogeys to be exact as he easily won with 75-13-62.

SUNDAY — Men’s net: W Baty 62, R Pardoe 67, G Tattersfield 70, S Pohatu 70.

Women’s net: D Johnston 79.

FRIDAY — Friday meat pack nine-hole stableford, senior division: A Brodie 22, T Green 21, M Stock 21, A Blakeman 21.

Junior division: L Jamieson 23, M Owen 22, S Fookes 21.

WaikohuPERCY Milner and Mickey Grant produced the rounds of the day in the Endeavour men’s pennants on Saturday.

Waikohu’s Milner had 91-25-66, for 41 points, while Tolaga Bay’s Grant shot 76-11-65, also for 41.

The best players from each of the other clubs were Peter Harrison (Te Puia Springs, 38pts), Cliff Nepe (from Gisborne Park but played for Waikohu, 36); Tony Green (Patutahi, 37), Duncan Bush and John Vaughan (Poverty Bay, 34), Tom Sherratt (Tahunga, 35) and Bernie Crowley (Mahia, 35).

More on the pennants in the Endeavour pennants section of Golf Roundup.

SATURDAY — Endeavour men’s pennants, top three individual stableford rounds from each club — Waikohu: P Milner 41, K Tamanui 39, T Ruru 35.

Gisborne Park: C Nepe 36, D Harrison 33, M Emery 33.

Patutahi: T Green 37, B McKenzie 35, G Watson 31.

Tahunga: T Sherratt 35, S Butt 34, M Gibson 33.

Poverty Bay: D Bush 34, J Vaughan 34, D Mettrick 33.

Mahia: B Crowley 35, W Wesche 33, P Bremner 32.

Tolaga Bay: M Grant 41, T Sharp 37, M Watts 37.

Te Puia Springs: P Harrison 38, I Sykes 34, J Babbington-Welsh 34.

COMING UP: SUNDAY, April 29, club competition.

Poverty BayDON Wright and Pat Butler will fight out the Reynolds Cup men’s matchplay final on Saturday.

Wright proved too strong for Wynne MacLellan in their semifinal on Saturday, taking full advantage of the six shots he was getting to win 4 and 3.

Butler got a free pass into the final, Andy Hayward giving him the match as he was unavailable for the final.

In other divisions, Stefan Andreassen shot 73 off the stick to pip Gray Clapham on the 18th in the Willock Cup semifinals. His final opponent is George Brown, who beat Murray Smith.

Noel Absalom faces Roy Skuse in the Low Brothers final.

Richard Owen has endured plenty of downs in a rough period that had his mates nicknaming him Bradman because they reckoned he was averaging 99.

The former Poverty Bay representative rugby player climbed out of the rut last Thursday with his first sub-90 score on his home course this year.

Owen fired 89-22-67, for 41 points, to win the division 2 stableford on countback from Warwick Thompson.

Forty-one was also the top score in division 1, winner John Vaughan posting a back nine holes of 1-over 37 in his 82-15-67.

The Poverty Bay women’s team to compete at the national teams’ event in Napier on April 30 are Theresa Lewis, Marg Colebourne. Sally Spence and Ann Witters. Odette Thompson is reserve.

Tuesday/Wednesday — Nancy McCormick Memorial women’s foursomes (net): V Fraser/M Colebourne 139, L Fletcher/A Gemmell 143.

9-holers’ net: B. McIldowie 34.

SUNDAY — Men’s stableford, division 1: S Andreassen 40, M Norman 38, B Morgan 38, C Taewa 37, T Goldsmith 37.

Division 2: M Mulrooney 37, C Christie 36, B Bell 36, M Barker 33, M Armstrong 33.

Twos: A Reedy, B Brown, P Clayton.

Approach: P Clayton.

SATURDAY — Men’s stableford, division 1: K White 39, V Richardson 37, A Kirkpatrick 37.

Division 2: A Abrahams 38, A Hayward 38, B Simpson 36.

Twos: T Goldsmith, A Kirkpatrick, V Richardson.

Approach: A Kirkpatrick.

THURSDAY (April 12) — Men’s stableford, division 1: J Vaughan 41, J van Helden 41, C Christie 40, G Clapham 40.

Division 2: R Owen 41, W Thompson 41, M Reynolds 39, J Williams 39.

Twos: R. Owen, V. Richardson.

Approach: V. Richardson.

THE finals of the Reynolds and associated men’s trophies are on SUNDAY. The draw is — Low Brothers, 9am: N Absalom v R Skuse.

Willock and Reynolds, 9.07: S Andreassen v G Brown, P Butler v D Wright.

Tolaga BayTRENT Higgs was the Fred Astaire of the greens on Sunday.

Higgs shone on the dance floor, having just 27 putts in his medal-winning 62 — a far cry from the two left feet he had in his 90 in the Endeavour men’s pennants at Waikohu the day before.

SUNDAY — Medal: T Higgs 62, D Maitai 67, P Stevenson 70.

Putting: T Higgs 27, D Maitai 29.

COMING UP: SUNDAY, stableford, committee meeting at 10am.

Endeavour pennantsWaikohu took almost total advantage of home advantage as the Endeavour men’s interclub pennants series got under way on Saturday.

Only five Waikohu members were available — each club has six players divided into two teams of three — so Gisborne Park’s Cliff Nepe, whose Mahia opponent was a no-show, filled in the gap.

Nepe ended up being the only one to lose as Waikohu beat Tahunga 12-0 (four points for an individual win, two for a half) and Tolaga Bay 8-4.

Percy Milner, Kahu Tamanui, Frank Ngatoro, Tipi Ruru and Aaron Coker all registered wins as Waikohu posted 20 points.

They ended the day two points ahead of Poverty Bay for whom Duncan Bush, John Vaughan, Cliff Poole and Colin Christie had wins, and Dave Mettrick a half.

Gisborne Park and Tolaga Bay were next best on 12 points.

Glen McKinnon and Nepe (by default) had wins for Park and Mickey Grant, Mark Watts and Rongo Pomana were Tolaga Bay’s winners.

Mahia and Tahunga are on 10 points — Bernie Crowley and Pete Bremner winning for the Mahitians and Tim Sherratt and Tom Sherratt for the Tahungians.

Tony Green had Patutahi’s only win as they picked up eight points while Pete Harrison was the sole victor in Te Puia Springs’ six points.

Round 2 is at Tahunga on Saturday.

MahiaBERNIE Crowley and Anthony Steel combined forces to win the two-man ambrose net at the weekend.

They posted 66.7, with Duncan Bremner and Tom Hema second on 68.4.

RESULTS — Two-man ambrose net: B Crowley/A Steel 66.7, D Bremner/T Hema 68.4.

Harwood women’s competition, round 2, par: L Steel +4, T Smith +2.

SeniorsGISBORNE East Coast Veteran Golfers’ Society’s Hamilton Trophy is at Poverty Bay on Tuesday, May 1.

Tee-off is scheduled for 11.30am but this could be changed.

Contact usGolf Roundup is compiled and edited by Chris Taewa. If you have a story, tournament to promote or results you wish to have printed, contact The Gisborne Herald at 869-0633 or email sports@gisborneherald.co.nz

file picture