Log In

Reset Password

Golf roundup

MahiaCHRIS “Gid” Pitman produced one of the top performances in the long history of the Fiordland Lobster Mahia Men’s Open tournament over the weekend.

His rounds of 75 and 74 off a 12-handicap were justifiably rewarded with the premier title at the two-day competition — the 36-hole overall net.

Pitman’s consistency was key. He had five birdies, six bogeys and just a couple of double bogeys on a course that severely punishes errant shots.

Wade Wesche won the Charlie Austin trophy for best local with his rounds of 77, 83 off an 8-handicap.

The low 36-hole gross was shot by Patutahi member Hukanui Brown, 146 (73, 73), however, he took home the prize for the senior net while William Brown on 147 (72, 75) won the gross.

Hukanui Brown’s efforts included chipping in for an eagle-2 from pin-high on the 295-metre seventh hole.

The 71-strong field was once again treated to 5-star hospitality by the locals on a course in excellent condition.

Speaking on behalf of the visitors, Wairoa’s Mike Bird said in all his years of playing in the tournament it was the best he had seen the course.

Players enjoyed a sunny Saturday but had to break out the wet weather gear for a while on Sunday before the rain eased and the wind dropped.

Special mention was made of the men on the barbecue — Tegal Smith and Ku Hawkins.

The club was grateful for the support of the players and to everyone who contributed to another topnotch weekend.

Results —

Overall 36-hole net: Chris Pitman.

Charlie Austin trophy for best local performance: Wade Wesche.

Mystery trip lucky draw winner: Tony Green.

Senior division, 36-hole net: H Brown from G Rothwell.

36-hole gross: W Brown from B Eaglesome.

36-hole stableford: G Brown from W Wesche.

18-hole stableford (Sunday): T Apatu.

18-hole net (Saturday): P Jelbert.

Intermediate division, 36-hole net: H Harris from R Te Kanawa.

36-hole gross: N Bell from B McEachen.

36-hole stableford: N Jones from D Mettrick.

18-hole stableford (Sunday): J Geary.

18-hole net (Saturday): S Jury.

Junior division, 36-hole net: J Ash from J Han-Lee.

36-hole gross: M Hamblyn from B Fraser.

36-hole stableford: M Lunny from T Hema.

18-hole stableford (Sunday): G Hornblow.

18-hole net (Saturday): W Thompson.

Four-man teams’ event: W Thompson/B McEachen/M Birrell/J Ash.

Long drives, Sunday: M Lunny (jr), C Wesche (int), W Brown (sr).

Long drives, Saturday: J Ash (jr), C Wesche (int), C Pitman (sr).

Approaches, Sunday: J Ash (jr), P Hokianga (int), H Brown (sr).

Approaches, Saturday: L Wesche (jr), J Aitchison (int), B Morrissey (sr).

Twos: P Jelbert 2, H Brown 2, B Fraser, N Jones, J Geary, R Rothwell, G Brown, L Wesche, T Green, B Denton, B Pohatu, P Harting, R Hindmarsh.

PatutahiJOHN Neilson denied Brian Tietjen men’s net victory on Sunday by the narrowest of margins.

Both men posted 65 but Neilson won on countback.

TUESDAY — Women’s net: J Ewart 96-27-69, L Haisman 97-27-70.

SUNDAY — Men’s net: J Neilson 65, B Tietjen 65, J Blair 67.

Women’s net: S Robertson.

FRIDAY — Meat pack nine-hole stableford, senior division: D Russell 23, O Willimott 23, T Brodie 22, A Nimmo 21.

Junior division: P Summersby 21, P Jex-Blake 20, T Coutts 19, C Brown 19.

Gisborne Park

Blanche Walker scored a hat-trick of successes over the weekend.

Walker was a member of the Just Us team who had the best gross in the Enterprise Cars women’s 18-hole ambrose on Saturday. The others were Jo Kerr and Wiki Morrissey.

Walker went out the next day and helped Kerr, Bo Huhu and Tom Reynolds to victory in the Peter Dow Cup team competition.

And to complete her treble, Walker and Huhu also won the Canadian foursomes net on countback from Derek Craven and Tracey Ford.

Electrinet Park results, SUNDAY — Men’s net: G McKinnon 70.

Peter Dow Cup teams’ competition, winners: B Walker/B Huhu/J Kerr/T Reynolds.

Canadian foursomes: B Huhu/B Walker 65 on c/b from D Craven/T Ford 65.

SATURDAY — Enterprise Cars women’s 18-hole ambrose, gross: Just Us (J Kerr, B Walker, W Morrissey) 74.

Net: Country Bumpkins from Gizzy Wanabee Shoppers, Pink On Whites, Vikings, Ngati Porou, 3 Bags Full, Patutahi Lady Cowboys, Mini Mouse Tarts, Te Puia Rebels, Police Officers, Fashion Police, 3 Blind Mice.

Approaches: T Dods (on 14), S Paku (on 18).

Best Dressed: Vikings.

Twos: Gizzy Wanabee Shoppers, POWs, Police Officers.

Wednesday (Oct 2) — Women’s choose your hole stableford: T Ford 41.

Twos: B Walker, K Hay, B Woods.

TUESDAY (Oct 1) — Veteran men’s stableford: C Brown 43, A Hayward 40, E Parkin 39, P Hogan 39, B Cox 38, P Simpson 38, P Mitchell 36 on c/b.

Tolaga BayCHAPPIE O’Sullivan was the gold “medallist” in Sunday’s competition.

O’Sullivan won the medal with 62 from Mickey Grant on 64.

SUNDAY — Medal: C O’Sullivan 62, M Grant 64, M Jefferd 65, J Hale 66, Tere Lincoln 68.

Putting: J Hale 28, Tere Lincoln 28, M Grant 29.

Poverty Bay

MARGARET Williams and Odette Thompson enjoyed glorious weather and success in women’s competitions this week.

Thompson took advantage of the shorter distance to win the women’s red tees net on Monday with 89-25-64.

It was back to the yellow tees on Wednesday, with Williams heading off Vicki Fraser on countback — both returning 71s in the women’s chicken medal.

WEDNESDAY — Women’s chicken medal: M Williams, F Allen 71, V Fraser 71, F Pell 72, J Steele 73.

Women’s eclectic (June to September): S Spence (0-20), J MacKinnon (21-27), K Shaw (28+).

MONDAY — Women’s red tees net: O Thompson 89-25-64.

Twos: Marg Williams.

WEDNESDAY (Oct 2) — Women’s four-ball best-ball stableford: V Fraser/Morag Shanks 51, A Gemmell/M Williams 49.

9-hole hidden partners stableford: J French/J Alderson 42.

MONDAY (Sept 30) — Women’s bisque par: A Witters +9 on c/b from P Zame.

VeteransPATUTAHI’S Lorraine Haisman was the stand-out of the 36 players who took part in the Gisborne East Coast Veteran Golfers’ Society’s trip to Tolaga Bay on Tuesday.

Twenty-nine men and seven women made it the best turnout for the Tolaga Bay visit in years.

Superb weather and a well-presented course were complemented by excellent scoring.

The best of the day was Haisman’s 45 points which won the women’s division by four points from clubmate Shelley Robertson, with another ’Tahi member, Missie Winiata, third on 39.

Home-course vet Joe Lincoln topped the men’s section with 42 points. Poverty Bay’s Paul Gretton and Patutahi’s Sijtze Mohlmann were a point back.

The efforts of Haisman and Mohlmann boosted their challenge for the 2019 Player of the Year honours.

Haisman is now fourth-equal and Mohlmann sixth on the points table.

Brian Morrissey (Poverty Bay) leads on 41 points, Peter Harrison (Te Puia Springs) is second on 36, followed by Glenn Burnside (PB) on 35, Jenkins and Haisman 32 and Mohlmann 31.

The vets who travelled to Tolaga Bay were grateful for the warm welcome and hospitality of locals John and Alvie Hale and stalwart Lincoln.

The next event is 65th GEC Veteran Golfers Open in November.

With three weeks to go, only a handful of spaces are left in the men’s tournament.

The women’s field is also filling up. The different format for the women means there are daily events but players are advised to pre-enter, rather than turn up on the day, to avoid disappointment.

Email pbseniors@outlook.com or contact John Fricker at 022 658 4784.

Tolaga Bay trip results — Men’s stableford: J Lincoln 42, P Gretton 41, S Mohlmann 41, C O’Sullivan 39, A Bacon 38, B Cox 38, B Duncan 38, Ron Young 37, D Maloy 36, D Bush 36.

Women’s stableford: L Haisman 45, S Robertson 41, M Winiata 39, T Waru 38, R Maloy 37.

Most golf: S Mestrom.

OVERALL WINNER: Chris Pitman. Picture supplied