Log In

Reset Password

Awards honour nurses and midwives’ service

The achievements and efforts of nurses will be celebrated on Saturday with the fourth Nurses and Midwives of Tairawhiti (NAMOT) Annual Awards.

Nine awards will be presented to nurses and midwives ‘‘who are going above and beyond to provide the best care to those who need them’’.

“The awards are a fabulous opportunity to reflect on what an outstanding group of people we have the privilege to work with,’’ said NAMOT chairwoman Natasha Ashworth.

“It is a chance to share a memorable night with other nurses and midwives from across the Tairawhiti community.”

The clinical services team at Te Wiremu House have been nominated for a second year in the Reducing Inequities category, after winning last year.

The other nominee is Richelle Tarsau of Gisborne Hospital’s children’s ward, Planet Sunshine.

Te Wiremu House facility manager Lynette Stankovich said winning last year made the team really focus on what else they could do to make a difference for residents.

“We started our popular three-monthly cultural extravaganza.

‘‘We cook a variety of ethnic foods to share with residents and then all staff.

“Managers come in to help in the kitchen.

“Last week the feast included boil-up with puha, Samoan chop suey, fried bread, steamed pudding, and of course fish and chips.

“The day before the extravaganza we have a cultural training session.

“This time the focus was on supporting death and dying for different cultures.”

Kylie Morresey, nurse practitioner, nominated Te Wiremu House as one of many community organisations who respect the work their staff do.

“Te Wiremu has the highest proportion of Maori residents,” she said.

‘‘While it is becoming a lot more acceptable for older Maori to be in a rest home now, whanau need to know that it is a safe place culturally and that all will be welcome.

“Te Wiremu House go above and beyond to make this happen.

“From providing financial advice on living in a rest home to taking residents to doctor or radiology appointments to providing amazing end-of-life care, there is no job ever too big.

“I see every week the lengths that staff go to make all cultures feel at home.

“Nurses are leading this but the gardener, caretaker and caregivers do whatever it takes.

“They are all there for the right reasons.”

Ms Tarsau was nominated by Planet Sunshine colleague Deb McKay who said she had made many community-based connections to reduce disparities.

“She is a point of contact and a clinical connector.

“She aims to recognise and address poor health literacy as there are many families who do not understand the importance or relevance of an appointment.

“Social concerns, transport problems, time off work are all issues that are picked up and Richelle works with appropriate agencies, both internal and external, to find solutions.

“She works closely with the administrator of the paediatric clinics to achieve flexibility in the booking system and reduce the amount of wasted resource that comes from appointments not being attended.

“This also includes meeting regularly with paediatricians to review new referrals and ensure patients are being followed up.”

Another staff member at Te Wiremu House, Jan Casey and Gisborne Hospital duty nurse manager Teresa Fisher are nominated for services to nursing while Kendra McKay and Carolyn White, both of Puawai Aroha Maternity Unit at Gisborne Hospital, are nominated for services to midwifery.

The sole nominee for the General Practice/Primary Care Nursing Award is Rachel Ferkins of Three Rivers Medical.

The Lifetime Services to Nursing Award will be presented to Cynthia Colbert of Ngati Porou Hauora.

The awards evening is at the Cosmopolitan Club and starts at 5pm.

Tickets are available from Teresa.Fisher@tdh.org.nz or phone 027 457 6745.

The full list of nominees —Director of Nursing Award for New Graduate:

Toia Murray — Gisborne Hospital’s Ward 9;

Ashleigh Tautau-McLeod — Planet Sunshine;

Tara Gibson — Puawai Aroha Maternity.

Gaye Hollamby (Heikell) Excellence in Clinical Practice:

Christine Warrander — Ward 5

Michelle Scott — Gisborne Hospital’s long-term conditions unit, Tui Te Ora;

Simmy Taitapanui — Ward 9;

Melissa Mulligan — Te Wiremu House;

Cero Jacques — Ward 5;

Lesley Turnbull — Puawai Aroha;

Services to Nursing Award:

Teresa Fisher — Gisborne Hospital duty nurse manager;

Jan Casey — Te Wiremu House.

Services to Midwifery:

Kendra McKay — Puawai Aroha;

Carolyn White — Puawai Aroha.

Innovation/Patient Safety Award:

Andrea Seymour — Gisborne Hospital’s Rehab Day Unit;

Jacqueline Horsfall — Te Wiremu House.

General Practice / Primary Care Nursing:

Rachel Ferkins — Three Rivers.

Reducing Inequities Award:

Richelle Tarsau — Planet Sunshine;

Clinical Services Team — Te Wiremu House.

Lifetime Services to Nursing Award:

Cynthia Colbert Ngati Porou Hauora.

EIT Student Support for Undergraduate Nurses Award:

Danny Ryan — Te Kuwatawata (mental health and addictions services), Tui Te Ora.

CULTURAL EXTRAVAGANZA: Lynette Stankovich, Te Wiremu House facility manager (left), Terry Rickard, clinical services manager, and charge nurse Delores Woodcock help prepare their cultural feast of ethnic foods for residents and staff. The regular “cultural extravaganzas” are among the activities that have seen Te Wiremu House again nominated for the Reducing Inequities category at the Nurses and Midwives of Tairawhiti (NAMOT) Annual Awards, on Saturday. Te Wiremu House won the category last year. Picture by Liam Clayton