Log In

Reset Password

Poverty Bay not changing winning formula


WHY change a winning formula?

Poverty Bay haven’t as they look to make it Oligoi Jug men’s interclub pennants title No. 20.

Their campaign starts tomorrow at Te Puia Springs Golf Club when reigning champions Poverty Bay (1) take on Patutahi in the first of three rounds of pool play in the 2019 matchplay series.

The same four Poverty Bay players who brushed aside Tolaga Bay 8-0 in the 2018 final on the Bay course are back and looking even more ominous.

Peter Kerekere, Pete Anderson, 2018 player of the series William Brown and Simon Jeune will carry the tag of title favourites into tomorrow’s fixture against a ’Tahi team intent on quickly removing it.

The ’Tahi, who enjoyed a run of three consecutive Oligoi Jug crowns from 2012 to 2014, appear to be the Bay’s main rivals, although Te Puia may have something to say about that.

Patutahi’s team members for tomorrow are Jace Brown, Eddie Brown junior, younger brother Hukanui and Tony Akroyd.

It’s a good-looking side and PB (1) will need to be on their game to underline their No.1 seeding.

The Springs meet Tolaga Bay in the duel for neighbourhood supremacy.

Andrew Higham will again spearhead a home side also featuring Jason Devery, an in-form Thomas Donovan and Patutahi’s Regan Hindmarsh.

Teams are allowed to “borrow” a player from another club if they are unable to field a full side.

However, once he has played for one club, he is ineligible to appear for another. There’s plenty of experience in the Tolaga Bay outfit of Neil Hansen, Taine Lincoln, Dion Milner and Bruce Yates. All but Hansen were in last year’s second-placed side.

Gisborne Park have a couple of players out due to Saturday sport commitments heading into their clash with Poverty Bay (2).

The impressive Anuresh Chandra will get the chance to pit his skills against the region’s best in his Oligoi debut. He will be joined by Rob Taylor, Bo Huhu and Sel Peneha.

The Poverty Bay (2) team members are George Brown, Glenn Morley, Peter Stewart and Al Jennings.

The six clubs have been divided into two pools of three, with each having one cross-over game during the three rounds of pool play — tomorrow, April 13 at Patutahi and May 5 at Tolaga Bay.

Semifinals are at Poverty Bay on May 11 and the 36-hole final and positional playoffs are at Gisborne Park on May 26.

The Endeavour men’s handicap pennants also start tomorrow, at Mahia.