Log In

Reset Password

On the Mats — Indoor bowls news

Poverty Bay East Coast notched up their biggest win in decades in dominating Hawke's Bay at the Presidents Trophy held at Waerenga-a-Hika hall.

The hosts won by a massive margin of 116.5 points to 43.5.

Day 1 started with Poverty Bay winning all four of their fours games to take a 16-0 lead.

They increased their advantage to 34-6 in the pairs with six wins out of eight games.

Ten wins and two draws in the Round 3 singles put them 56-16 ahead.

Two wins in the four Round 4 fours games saw PBEC end the day with an emphatic scoreline of 64-24.

Their momentum continued on Day 2.

Three wins and three draws in the pairs extended their lead to 77.5-34.5.

PBEC were in almost total control of the next round of 16 singles games.

They won 13 and drew one to increase their already vast lead to 104.5-39.5.

And they capped a fine tournament with three wins out of four in the final round of fours.

PBEC's top points-scorer was David Lynn, with six wins and a draw from his seven games.

He was followed by the team's youngest bowler, 11-year-old Adam Rickard, who on representative debut had six wins.

Hina Preddy, 17, also had a fantastic weekend to record six wins and Andrew Rickard also clocked up six victories.

Nathan Trowell, Arnold Hutchins, debutant Keith Setter and Lois Lamont impressed in their five wins and a draw apiece.

Matthew Foster and Nanette Treloar had five wins.

Kayla Trowell, also on debut, won both her singles in a personal tally of four wins and a draw.

Father Malcolm Trowell and another youngster, Sian Williams, also had four wins and a draw.

Dylan Foster, Doc Tipene and Jay Casey also contributed to the historic win.

Particularly pleasing was that seven of the PBEC team are under 18 years of age, signalling their exciting futures in the game.

BEST OF THE BAYS: Poverty Bay East Coast trounced their Hawke's Bay counterparts at the Presidents Trophy. Back row (from left): Mike Foster (manager/reserve), Doc Tipene, Lois Lamont, Keith Setter, Malcolm Trowell, Jay Casey, Nanette Treloar, Andrew Rickard and Arnold Hutchins. Front: Nathan Trowell, Matthew Foster, Hina Preddey, Adam Rickard, Dylan Foster, Kayla Trowell, Sian Williams and David Lynn. Picture supplied