Log In

Reset Password

Golf roundup

Poverty Bay

Central School principal Andy Hayward's last couple of weeks of freedom will be enjoyed as the Summer Cup champion.

Hayward saved his best round of the five-round cup series to last on Saturday to win the title by just one stroke.

He battled back from a triple-bogey eight on the fifth hole to post 78-9-69, which won him the divison 1 men's stableford.

More importantly it was his best counting score of his three best nets over the five-round series.

Hayward finished on a net total of 214, one ahead of Colin Christie (74, 67, 73), with Peter Goodwin third on 215 (72, 743, 69).

Ian Kirkpatrick's best score on the Awapuni Links in well over four years was almost as big a buzz as his hat-trick of tries for the All Blacks against Australia in 1968.

“Kirkie” won the hot-scoring Division 2 men's stableford last Thursday with 86-20-66, for 42 points.

Sunday — Men's stableford: M Jefferson 40, N Richardson 39, M Callaghan 39.

Twos: P Kerekere.

Approach: P Kerekere.

Saturday— Men's stableford, division 1: A Hayward 40, P Anderson 39, J van Helden 38.

Division 2: A Destry P Goodwin 39, C Simpson 38, D McFadyen 38.

Twos: C. Christie, C. Jeffrey, G. Clapham, P Anderson

Approach: C Christie.

Thursday (Jan 21) — Men's stableford, division 1: P Graham 39, V Richardson 39, A. White 38, I Murphy 38, C Poole 37, G Morley 37.

Division 2: I Kirkpatrick 42, G Eriksen 40, B Allen 40, B Read 40, M Thomas 40, R Owen 40.

Twos: R Owen, W Brown, C Poole, S Andreassen, M Higham, B Allen, V Richardson, A Kirkpatrick.

Approach: M Higham.


ANDY Nimmo and Helen Pomana lifted the Summer Cup silverware for the 2020-2021 season.

Nimmo's net 65 in the third and final round of the series earned him the men's title.

Pomana topped the women's division.

Tony Green won the Vets Cup decided on the best two of three nets.

The round of the weekend came from Shelley Robertson, who sensationally broke 80 with 78-14-64 to win the women's net on Sunday.

Wynne MacLellan's 63 that won the senior men's net while Dave Skudder (64) topped the junior division.

SUNDAY — Summer Cup, final round, net, senior men's division: W MacLellan 63, C Beattie 64, J Blair 66, P Molloy 67, O Willimott 67.

Junior men: D Skudder 64, A Nimmo 65, B Tietjen 65, S Eder 67, G Watson 69.

Women: S Robertson 64.

Twos: D Skudder, R Hindmarsh, R Pardoe, C Beattie 2.

Jackpot: C Beattie.

Vets Cup (best two of three nets): T Green.

Men's Summer Cup (best three of three nets): A Nimmo.

Women's Summer Cup (best three of three nets): H Pomana.

FRIDAY — Meat pack 9-hole stableford, senior division: T Sweeney 22, B McKenzie 21, M Smith 21, J Blair 20, A Nimmo 20.


PAUL Rickard summed up the Wharerata Shield performance by his Poverty Bay clubmates honestly but brutally on Sunday.

“We were pathetic,” he said at the prize-giving after the Bay finished third and last at the tri-club stableford event,

“We didn't even deserve to be third.”

Wairoa once again proved too strong in the latest edition of the 18-hole interclub competition postponed from 2020 because of Covid-19 and hosted by Mahia.

Wairoa's 15-player team averaged 34.5 stableford points, one ahead of Mahia's 21-strong side, to retain the shield.

Poverty Bay's 28-strong crew were a distant third with a measly average of 28.5.

Rick's 36 points was the equal-best of the Bay players at the 2019 Shield held in Wairoa. This time he was equal-worst — with 99-13-86, for 22 points including five lost balls — alongside Alan Baldwin's 108-21-87.

Mahia's Peter Bremner, manning the bar after the round, told the Poverty Bay players: “You guys better buy a raffle ticket because it's your only chance of winning anything today.”

Despite the feeble showing from the city slickers, Mahia's superb hospitality took precedence on a hot summer's day on a course last year rated by the Golf website as among the top 50 nine-hole courses in the world.

SUNDAY — Wharerata Shield (average stableford): Wairoa 532 points (15 players), average 35.4; Mahia 724 (21 players), average 34.5; Poverty Bay 809 (28 players), average 28.8.

Twos: G Clapham, N Jones, W Thompson 2, Wade Wesche, G Hornblow, B Crowley.


TAMA Brown went as close as he could to breaking 80 for the first time in over two-and-a-half years on Sunday.

Brown shot 80-15-65 to win the Summer Cup net round, well clear of second-placed Marg Tuapawa (70), and iced his effort with a two.

Kahu Tamanui was an even more emphatic winner of the Gold Card 9-hole stableford on Friday. His 24 points were nine ahead of runner-up Ike Ruru.

SUNDAY— Summer Cup net: T Brown 65, M Tuapawa 70, A Tamanui Nunn 71, L Green 73, E Wynyard 73, V Grace 73.

Twos: V Grace, T Brown.

FRIDAY — Gold Card 9-hole stableford: K Tamanui 24, I Ruru 15, C Ruru 14.

COMING UP: TOMORROW, gold card 9-hole stableford; SUNDAY, club day.

Electrinet Park

ANARU Reedy racked up his 30th birdie of the year while winning the men's stableford on Sunday.

Reedy shot 4-under 68 off a +2 for 38 points — his round featuring six birdies, two of those book-ending his sub-par effort.

Nearer the other end of the handicap spectrum, Di Webb won the women's stableford with 108-39-69, for 40 points.

Roger McGann was a clearcut winner of the men's stableford on Saturday. He was five points clear of runner-up Evan Parkin.

SUNDAY — Men's stableford: A Reedy 38, P Wellard 37, R Walford 36.

Twos: R Moore.

Women's stableford: D Webb 40.

SATURDAY — Men's stableford: R McGann 39, E Parkin 34.

Twos: A Pahina.

COMING UP: THURSDAYS, twilight 9-hole golf.

Te Puia Springs

ROBYN Ngatai charged home but Hazel Miratana held on to win the Summer Cup women's crown on Sunday.

Ngatai finish +7 in the bisque bogey format to head the women but Miratana did enough to stay in front.

Tautohe Kupenga also made a strong challenge for the men's title. He won the day with +8, thanks to 81-19-62, but Peter Harrison's overall lead going into the round was enough for him to take the overall honours, with Kupenga runner-up.

SUNDAY — Fourth and final round of Summer Cup, bisque bogey, men: T Kupenga +8, N Truman +7, R Smith +6, I Logan, B Clark +6, J Forrester +4, P Moana +4, P Ngarimu +1, J Devery +1.

Women: R Ngatai +7, J Williams +7, H Miratana +6, I Ngarimu +6, D Goldsmith +6, G Roberts +5,

Overall Summer Cup winners, men: P Harrison 6pts from T Kupenga 5pts.

Women: H Miratana 5pts from R Ngatai 5pts.

COMING UP: SUNDAY, club haggle (par round).

- Golf Roundup is compiled and edited by Chris Taewa.

File picture