Log In

Reset Password

Around the Greens: Club bowls news

SHIELD WINNERS: Poverty Bay Bowling Club’s mixed graded fours tournament for the Graham Shield drew 14 teams. The winners were (from left): Karen Higgins, Trish Leach, Joy Davis and Jeff Davis.Picture by Norma Miller
TRIPLES WINNERS: Poverty Bay Bowling Club’s junior women’s championship triples tournament was won by (from left) Win Baker (lead), Norma Miller (director) and Robyn Arthur (skip).Picture supplied

Poverty Bay

Jeff Davis skipped the winning team in Poverty Bay Bowling Club’s mixed graded fours tournament for the Graham Shield.

His wife Joy played at three, Karen Higgins was at two and Trish Leach was lead.

Fourteen teams entered the Evans Funeral Services-sponsored tournament, and players from the three Gisborne clubs took part.

Teams played three games. Davis’s team were the only four with three wins, for six points.

Runners-up, with five points, were Lex Kennedy (skip), Barrie Denham (three), Joan Gledhill (two) and Diane Doyle (lead).

Five teams had two wins, so the next placings were decided on ends won.

Third, with 18 ends won, were the team of Anita Vaotuua (skip), Cheryl Jenkins (three), Andrew Ball (two) and Otto Louw (lead).

Fourth, with 17 ends won, were Jon Davies (skip), Larry Kaloukava (three), Ngawai Turipa (two) and John Andrews (lead).

Fifty-six players took part in the tournament in great conditions for bowling.

It was good to have some teams formed by players combining from different clubs. Players enjoyed lunch together and socialising with food and drinks following play.

The winners of the club’s junior women’s championship triples were Robyn Arthur (skip), Norma Miller (director) and Win Baker (lead).

In the final, they defeated the team skipped by Kym Walters 11-7.

Some of the ends were close. Arthur took the lead when her team were four down, only to have Walters take it off her.

In the second round a very close game between these teams was eventually won 9-8 by Arthur’s team, but in the third round Walters’ team had a convincing 19-3 win over Arthur’s team. Even senior players experience good and bad days . . . that’s bowls.

The team skipped by first-year player Kandyce Bevan, with another first-year player, Jean Patterson, as director and Jude Hall as lead were thrilled to have a 17-2 win against the team skipped by the much more experienced Kathryn Flaugere, who had Diane Doyle as director and Anna Colvin as lead.

Bevan’s team also played very well against both the eventual finalists, losing by narrow margins.

Tolaga Bay

Tolaga Bay Bowling Club’s Ruby Anne Henry Tournament will be played on Saturday, January 30 (Anniversary Weekend). It is a triples format with team entry. Anyone interested should ring Vern Marshall at 027 902 5030.