Log In

Reset Password

Around the Greens

Poverty Bay

Anna Colvin, a first-year player, won Poverty Bay Bowling club's junior women's singles for players with up to three years of bowls experience.

She defeated Win Baker 21-5 in the final.

While that was a good win, her journey to the final was hard-fought.

The two-life format was used, with the winner being the first to 21 points or ahead at the 90-minute time limit.

In the third round, Colvin defeated Baker 13-12. Colvin was ahead 12-5 after 11 ends but Baker then won five ends to make the score 12-12 before Colvin got one point on the last end to win.

In the fourth round, Baker defeated Colvin 20-6.

In the fifth round, Colvin was down 20-12 to Joan Gledhill after 18 ends but then had four good ends to win 21-20.

Another first-year player, Kandyce Bevan, had a win against Gledhill and two other competitive games.

The women's singles for those with up to eight years of bowls experience was won by Kathryn Flaugere, who defeated Trish Leach 21-11.

They played each other three times in the championship. In the second round, Leach defeated Flaugere 17-12 and in the fourth round Flaugere defeated Leach 21-16.

Norma Miller played Flaugere in two rounds. In the first round the score was drawn 14-14 when time was up so they had to play another end to get a winner and Flaugere got two points.

In the third round they had another close game which was 11-11 after 14 ends. Flaugere was the winner 17-14 when time was up.

Both championships were held in December, starting at 5pm and finishing under the lights with good support from other members.

The Poverty Bay Bowling Club Rex Rigney Christmas Tournament was sponsored by Kiri Te Kanawa Retirement Village.

The winners were Otto Louw (l), Tony Dobson (d) and Kathryn Carroll (s). Pip Griffin from Kiri Te Kanawa presented the prizes. (3rd from left). Photo provided.

The team skipped by Anita Vaotuua with Joy Davis (director), Cheryl Jenkins (2) and Diane Christie (lead) won the women's open fours championship, defeating the team skipped by Jan Powell with Erin Sutherland (d), Marilyn Knowles (2) and Kathryn Carroll (l) 19-3 in the final.

Vaotuua's team were focused and combined beautifully to take the title.

Vaotuua's team had challenging games on their way to the final, however, just beating the team skipped by Betty Herring with Kathryn Flaugere (d), Win Baker (2) and Trish Leach (l) 13-12. Herring's team got five points on the last end to nearly catch them.

In the provisional final, Powell's team defeated Vaotuua's four 11-9 to take a life off them.

Poverty Bay Bowling Club have an increasing number of competitive women bowlers.

The unexpected winners of the Poverty Bay Bowling Club open men's fours championship were the team skipped by Jon Davies with Larry Kaloukava (d), John Andrews (2) and Bruce Smart (l).

They defeated the team skipped by Steve Berezowski with Ian Carroll (d), Dave Hooper (2) and Jeff Davis (l), 11-9 in the final.

Davies' team were behind until the 13th end when they drew 9-9 and then won the last two ends to take the title in an exciting game.

In the thirrd round, Davies' team also defeated Berezowski's four in a game in which only one point was scored on all 14 ends to give a final score of 8-6 to Davies team.

Davies' team included the only junior player in the championship, John Andrews, who is a promising second-year player, and the oldest member of the club, Bruce Smart, who is 97.

Members are wondering if “Smarty”, as he is known to many, might be the oldest club member in New Zealand to be in a winning championship team, maybe the world!

WOMEN'S OPEN FOURS CHAMPIONSHIP WINNERS: Poverty Bay winners are (from left) Cheryl Jenkins, Anita Vaotuua, Diane Christie and Joy Davis. Pictures supplied
SINGLES WINNERS: Poverty Bay under-8 winner Kathryn Flaugere (left) and under-3 winner Anna Colvin.
OPEN MEN'S FOURS WINNERS: Poverty Bay champions (from left) Bruce Smart, John Andrews, Jon Davies and Larry Kaloukava.