Log In

Reset Password

Gisborne - East Coast golf roundup

Poverty Bay

SIMON Jeune overcame an average start to post red figures in the men’s stableford on Saturday.

Jeune was 2-over after six holes but birdies on the seventh, 10th, 11th and 13th holes put him a couple under the card.

He bogeyed 15 and birdies 18 for 70-1-69 and 39 points, which fittingly won him the division 1 men’s stableford.

Forty-point hauls from Dave Hall (Sunday) and Mark Higham (last Thursday) won them their stableford divisions.

Glenn Morley was in the twos over the week. He had one in his Thursday round of 1-over 73, the jackpot of two twos in his Saturday round and another two on Sunday.

Bill Simpson (36pts, Saturday), Tim Sherratt (38pts, Thursday) and new men’s club captain Andy Hayward (36pts, Sunday) were the other men’s competition winners over the week.

SUNDAY — Men’s stableford, division 1: A Hayward 37, T Donovan 37, M Norman 36.

Division 2: D Hall 40, L Hewson 39, R Fletcher 36.

Twos: G Morley, T Donovan, P Anderson.

Approach: T Donovan.

SATURDAY — Men’s stableford, division 1: S Jeune 39, N Richardson 37, C Poole 35, G Morley 35.

Division 2: B Simpson 36, M Smith 36, C Christie 34.

Twos: G Morley 2, T Needham, D Robertson, J Situ, S Jeune.

Approach: J Lewis.

Jackpot: G. Morley.

Thursday (Nov 26) — Men’s stableford, division 1: M Higham 40, G Morley 39, D Griffin 37, N Mackie 37.

Division 2: T Sherratt 38, P Graham 37, G Kemp 37 A Destry 36.

Twos: V Richardson, M Higham, A Destry, G Morley.

Approach: D Mettrick.

Electrinet Park

TRACEY Ford, Rebecca Walford and Linda Brown were the major winners at the Pak’nSave women’s Christmas tournament last Thursday.

Ford’s 90 was good enough to win the overall gross, Walford fired 95-27-68 to win the net and Brown shot 106-36-70, for 39 points, to top the stableford.

Dave Te Maro ventured into unfamiliar sub-century territory to win the veterans’ stableford last Tuesday.

Te Maro carded 97-32-65, for 43 points, five points clear of the field.

SATURDAY — Men’s stableford: A Nairne 36.

THURSDAY (Nov 27) — Pak’nSave women’s Christmas tournament, overall gross: T Ford 90 from J Utting.

Overall net: R Walford 68 from J Muir 73.

Overall stableford: L Brown 39, K Shaw 35, J Akuhata-Nickerson 35, P Shaw 33, W Morrissey 33, J McCafferty 32, B Walker 31, R Taiapa 30, P Johansen 30, M Williams 29, S Maisey 29, J McKinnon 29.

Nearest the line on 18: C McDonald.

Approaches, M Colebourne, P Shaw.

TUESDAY (Nov 24) — Veteran men’s stableford: D Te Maro 43, C Brown 38, W Brown 38, B Cox 37, S Peneha 37, E Parkin 36, E Morley 36, R McGann 36.

Twos: E Parkin.

COMING UP: THURSDAYS, twilight 9-hole stableford, 3.30pm to 6pm tee-off; SUNDAY, Electrinet Park Christmas tournament, rolling start from 7.30am to 11.30am, start sheet at office.


SAI Eder produced a 26-point blitz to win the junior division of the meat pack 9-hole stableford on Friday.

He was also among the keen crew who braved the rain on Sunday and was rewarded with second in the men’s net, with 70, two strokes behind winner Hamish Harris, who had two twos in his round.

He was back in the prizes on Sunday

The AGM has been postponed to Sunday, December 20, and will be followed by the Guy Farmer Trophy.

SUNDAY — H Harris 68, S Eder 70.

Twos: H Harris 2.

Jackpot: H Harris.

FRIDAY — Meat pack 9-hole stableford, senior division: T Hindmarsh 22, B Wallace 21, W MacLellan 20, A Blakeman 20, G Brown 19.

Junior division: S Eder 26, C Blumfield 24, D Tarry 23, S Fookes 22, D Skudder 21.


WAIROA member Han Lee claimed the overall honours at the 34th Fiordland Lobster Company Mahia men’s open, thanks to a sizzling Saturday round.

Lee shot 80-17-63, including four birdies,in the first round of the 36-hole tournament.

His handicap was chopped three strokes for the Sunday round and he battled to 93-14-79 but his total was still good enough to earn the top prize.

Manawatu-Wanganui representative Ryan Rooney won the 36-hole gross with a 5-over total of 149 (71, 78), two shots ahead of former New Zealand representative Mike Barltrop (76, 75) of Royal Auckland and Grange.

The Charlie Austin Trophy for the top local went to Wayne Wesche, who had rounds of 88 and 82 off a 13-handicap.

Results — Overall 36-hole net: Han Lee.

Charlie Austin trophy for best local: Wayne Wesche.

36-hole net, senior division: Nathan Maher from Paul Rooney.

Intermediate: Mason Birrell from Bernie Crowley.

Junior: Bobby Lewis from John Davidson.

36-hole gross, senior division: Ryan Rooney from Michael Barltrop.

Intermediate: Tom Brodie from Simon Tana.

Junior: Butch Fraser from Tama Brown.

36-hole stableford, senior division: C Taurima from B Yates.

Intermediate: B Maher from P McKenzie.

Junior: T Hema from L Taurima.

Pairs competition: J Davidson/P Bremner tied with J Geary/P Rooney.

Teams’ competition: L Taurima/ B Crowley/C Taurima/P Bremner.

Sunday net, senior division: P Bremner

Intermediate: A Nimmo.

Junior: J Tihore.

Saturday stableford, senior division: G Brown.

Intermediate: B Gibson.

Junior: J Te Amo.

Approaches, Sunday: W Wesche, J Geary, C Taylor.

Approaches, Saturday: J March, B Gibson, J Ash.

Long drives, Sunday: Wade Wesche, Robert Hamblyn, W Albert.

Long drives, Saturday: R Rooney, M Gibson, W Albert.


TERESA Lewis and Bernie Rothschild made the most of the decision to postpone the Gisborne East Coast Veteran Golfers’ Kiri Te Kanawa Retirement Village open tournament a day.

Forecast rain for Tuesday resulted in organisers making the call to move the tournament to yesterday and it proved the right decision.

Lewis won the women’s stableford with 97-28-69, for 41 points.

Rothschild shot even-par 36 on the front nine on his way to 76-8-68, for 40 points, and the men’s honours.

Jan Ewart (40) and Frank Ball (39) were the runners-up.

Results — Women’s stableford: T Lewis 41, J Ewart 40, V Bell 37, P Gayford 37, W Morrissey 36, T Ford 36, S Mestrom 35, L Brown 34, R Taiapa 33, M Williams 32, V Fraser 32.

Men’s stableford: B Rothschild 40, F Ball 39, P Reid 38, D Malloy 37, B Lumsden-Nicholls 36, M Dodgshun 35, C Dean 35, G Hawea 34, B Morrissey 32, S Mohlmann 32.

9-holers’ stableford: R Dymock 22, P Griffin 16, J Newman 14.

Twos: J Ewart, W Morrissey.

Approaches, women: T Ford, J Ewart.

Approaches, men: F Ball, B Hall.

Approaches, 9-holers: B McIldowie

Nearest the line: J MacKinnon (women), P Gretton (men).


WAIKOHU’S AGM is on Sunday, December 13, from 10am. A club competition will follow.

COMING UP: SUNDAY, club competition, 11am start.

Golf Roundup compiled and edited by Chris Taewa. If you have a story, tournament to promote or results you wish to have printed, contact The Gisborne Herald at 869-0633 or email sports@gisborneherald.co.nz

SILVERWARE SUCCESS: Gay Young was feeling a bit like a jack-in-the-box at Poverty Bay Golf Club’s 2020 prizegiving. Young won a bunch of trophies, including the AB&J Cup 27-hole senior division title, the Oman Cup matchplay, the Nolan Vase (four best net total) and Kahlenberg Cup pairs alongside Vicki Fraser. In a year overshadowed by Covid-19, Young can at least reflect on several highlights and, along with the rest of the golfing community, look forward to a more fluid 2021. Picture supplied