Log In

Reset Password

Martin Cup to Jefferson four

Second centre win of the season for Harrison.

The J. J. Martin Cup headed to Gisborne Bowling Club after Robin Jefferson, Charlie Ure, Ricky Miller and Mark Walker went through their campaign unbeaten.

Playing on the round-robin format with five entries, Jefferson ended with eight match points with a plus-18 differential.

Jefferson’s team had one close call, when they managed to get home by one shot over the team skipped by the Gisborne club’s Arthur Hawes.

That game turned out to be the Hawes team’s best bid for the title, as they did not manage to score any match points.

July Williams, of Te Karaka, skipped Bob McIlroy, Brendan McIlroy and Willy Murray to two comfortable wins on Saturday. On Sunday, though, they did not register a win. Nevertheless, their record over the two days was good enough to earn them second place.

David File’s home club favourites struggled. The team from Te Karaka managed a couple of wins but ended with a minus-three differential.

Poverty Bay’s Steve Berezowski, Bruce Ball, Lex Kennedy and Andrew Ball also recorded two wins over the tournament.

They got off to a bad start, losing to Jefferson and File, but rebounded to record wins against Hawes and Williams to give Jefferson that extra-game buffer we all enjoy when it happens.

The women’s top eight went through to Sunday’s play.

Sharon Olsen from the Tolaga Bay club teamed up with Te Karaka bowlers Sarah Brown, Janet Baty and Alicia Ruru. They took on the Gisborne club’s Carol Hawes, Dianne Phillips, Barbara Gibson and Lesley McIntosh.

The game was close throughout, but Olsen managed to hold on to a one-point lead to get home 9-8.

Gisborne’s Bobbie Beattie, Tanya Harrison, Kym Brown and Karen Higgins finished with a 13-9 victory over Gisborne’s Queenie Takurua, Dayvinia Mills, Adrienne Torrie and W Treloar.

Poverty Bay’s Joy Davis, K Bevan, Ora Peipi and Lesley Seymour had a comfortable 18-6win against clubmates Jan Powell, Erin Sutherland, Kathy Carroll and Marilyn Knowles.

Kahutia four Glenys Whiteman, Marie Wright, Lucy Shanks and Paige Richter cruised home against Te Karaka combination Del Tamanui, Jasmine Merrick, Erica Thompson and Diane Murray.

Olsen took on Beattie in the semifinal. This was another close encounter. The game went back and forth until the 11th end, when Olsen — who had been leading 7-6 — dropped four shots.

However, on the 12th end Olsen picked up three to level the scores.

When you have 15 ends or a two-hour time limit, time usually wins. The bell went on the 13th end, with Beattie having grabbed one shot to go through to the final.

Davis was looking good against Whiteman for part of the game. After five ends, Davis’s team led 6-3.

But Whiteman’s team rallied, picking up a single, a three, a four and a two to jump to a 13-6 lead.

Whiteman’s team were never going to relinquish that lead, and won 13-9.

The final had no time limit, so it was 15 completed ends or the point of no return.

Whiteman jumped out to an early lead after four ends, having picked up two singles and a five to lead 7-2.

However, in the next four ends Beattie’s team picked up a three, a two, a single and a six to jump to a 14-7 lead.

On the ninth end, Whiteman picked up a single and in the next two ends Beattie grabbed three more.

There’s no denying the efforts of Whiteman’s team as they made a late surge, but the deficit was too great to peg back.

Beattie’s team won the Rahiwi Cup with an 18-15 victory.

This was the second centre tournament so far this season. For Tanya Harrison, this win goes with the mixed pairs she also won three weeks ago.

At this rate she will be a contender for the player-of-the-year trophy presented at the centre prize-giving in May at the end of our bowling year.

Beattie said her team were steady throughout the two days. Karen Higgins set heads up for the team to follow and this they did. Kym Brown backed up her mate and for that earned herself her first centre title. It’s certainly something to remember.

Congratulations go to the victors and thanks go to those who made the tournaments possible by entering.