Log In

Reset Password

Interclub bound for Tolaga Bay

The junior interclub challenge heads to Tolaga Bay tomorrow, with matches running from 8.30am.

This competition is for those with less than eight years of bowls experience.

Three Gisborne-East Coast centre clubs entered teams in both genders.

Teams are each made up of a singles player, a pair and a four.

In the women's competition, Gisborne, Poverty Bay and Tolaga Bay/Te Karaka have teams entered.

For the Gisborne club, Ginny Sherriff heads her team with the singles spot.

Adrienne Torrie and Karen Pinn will play the pairs, and Margot Willock, Jennie Evans, Diane Oates and Libby Clay, the fours.

Poverty Bay won this event last year and will no doubt fancy their chances again. Kathryn Flaugere takes the singles spot, with Robyn Arthur and Norma Miller playing pairs. Kim Walters, Joan Gledhill, Anna Colvin and Trish Leach will play the fours.

Tolaga Bay/Te Karaka combined to front up with a team. Diane Murray is their singles player, Erica Thompson and Holli Elkington are their pair, and Kay Goldsbury, Delorus Woodcock, Jackie Horsfall and Sylvie Williams, the four.

The women play for the Peck Shield, which was donated by Norma and Garth Peck.

Some good match-ups are in store. Even though, relatively speaking, the competitors haven't had a long playing career, they have quite a lot of experience across the board.

The same applies to the men. They are playing for the Yelverton Shield.

Kahutia won this trophy last season and will be favourites as they front up with almost the same team.

Andrew Ball is their singles player, Willy Murray and Ray Young will play the pairs, and Joe Wimutu, Alan Parker, Frank McLoughlin and Marty Ryan, the four.

The Gisborne club will fancy their chances, as they front up with a strong team.

They have Geoff Pinn in the singles, Tim Sherriff and Peter Clay in the pairs and Harry Jackson, Ron Robertson, Steve Wood and Don Oates in the fours.

Tolaga Bay are the other team entered. Ben Elkington plays the singles, George Tamihana and Peter Hughes play the pairs, and Anton Tashkoff, Zaedys Hughes, Zhiar Hughes and Treva Rink, the fours.

Teams will play two games, with a bye, in each discipline.

Spectators are welcome.

Players and managers will have to supply their own lunch.