Log In

Reset Password

Zach Ferkins follows up K1 1000-metre win with silver medal in the K1 500m


Zach Ferkins was less than a second away from a momentous double at the national canoe sprint championships at Lake Karapiro yesterday.

Karapiro-based Poverty Bay Kayak Club paddler Ferkins followed up his barnstorming open men's K1 1000-metre win on Saturday with a silver medal in the K1 500m yesterday.

He finished 0.58 of a second behind North Shore paddler Ashton Reiser, who won the K1 200m on Friday.

Six months ago, Reiser had surgery to both forearms after being beset by compartment syndrome issues.

Also yesterday, Lisa Carrington beat a high-class field in the final of the open women's K1 500m.

In near-perfect conditions on the last day of the championships, Carrington was pushed all the way by fellow New Zealand squad members Caitlin Ryan and Aimee Fisher but held them off to add the K1 500m crown to the K1 200m title she secured on Friday.

Carrington, the reigning world champion in both events, clocked 1 minute 48.23 seconds — a little under two seconds shy of the world-best time.

Ryan earned silver in 1:50.42 and Fisher was third in 1:52.54.

In the open men's 500m, Reiser produced a strong late surge to win the title in 1:43.37 — 0.58s clear of silver medallist Ferkins.

Hamish Legarth (Hawke's Bay) added 500m bronze to the 1000m bronze he earned on Saturday, holding off fellow national squad member Ben Duffy (Arawa) by 0.16s in a time of 1:44.24.

Poverty Bay's Sam Ferkins finished eighth in the final of the open men's 500m but in the afternoon he won the open men's five-kilometre race.

Candidate for race of the day came in the open women's K4 500m final. Britney Ford and Alex Bermingham of Poverty Bay combined with Brooklyn Saunders (Arawa) and Rebecca Cole (North Shore) to finish second, 0.03 of a second behind a North Shore crew whose winning time was 1:44.99.

In the women's under-16 division, Poverty Bay's Genna Robertson, in 2:15.44, took second place in the K1 500m behind Arawa paddler Madison Garrett, whose win completed a personal haul of five gold medals from the championships.

In other Poverty Bay results yesterday

- Genna Robertson (PB) and Natasha MacGibbon (Arawa) won the u16 women's K2 500m in 2:01.59.

- Emma Brownlie was second in the A Final of the u18 women's K1 500m in 2:08.06.

- Seren Rogers won the u18 women's K1 5km and the B Final of the u18 women's K1 500m.

- Ollie Egan was second in the u14 men's K1 500m in 2:29.10, and second in the u14 K1 5km.

- Amber Dearness was third in the u14 women's K1 500m in 2:24.56.

- Rogers and Brownlie were third in the u18 women's K2 500m in 2:02.78.

- Angus Baker won the u16 K1 5km.

- Geoff Mould was third in the master men's 55-plus K1 5km.

- Alex Bermingham was third in the open women's K1 5km.

* The Saturday K1 1000m victory for Zach Ferkins was one of the most emphatic performances of the regatta.

The 21-year-old New Zealand men's kayak squad member, established an early advantage and did not relinquish control, crossing the line in a time of 3:38.31.

In a race many expected to be a much closer affair, fellow squad members Ben Duffy (Arawa), in 3:44.83, and Hamish Legarth (Hawke's Bay), 3:45.87, grabbed the minor medals.

“I backed myself to paddle well today and I'm stoked to win,” Ferkins said.

“During the race I tried not to look around but I could see no one in my peripheral vision.

“With 200m to go I looked over my shoulder and it was, wow, oh my God, I'm so far ahead. I then just tried to hold it together and put in a little kick at the end.”

Also on Saturday afternoon, Poverty Bay paddler Alex Bermingham combined with Samalulu Clifton (North Shore) to win gold in the open women's K2 500m in a time of 1:57.67.

Elise Legarth and Rochelle Austin (North Shore) secured silver in 2:01.03, with Poverty Bay pair Britney Ford and Kim Thompson earning bronze in 2:02.51.

In the age groups, Poverty Bay's Angus Baker and Will Pittar joined with Thomas MacGibbon and Alex Hickman of the Arawa club to win the u18 men's K4 500m.

The Poverty Bay team of Stacey Warren-Moiser, Seren Rogers, Nicki Graham and Emma Brownlie were second in the u18 women's K4 500m.

In other Poverty Bay results on Saturday afternoon

- Angus Baker won bronze in the u16 men's K1 500m.

- Georgie Beaufoy was second in the tyro women's K1 500m.

- Baker and Jamie Walker were second in the u16 K2 500m.

- Ollie Egan and Matt McKendry won the u14 men's K2 500m.

- Geoff Mould was second in the master men's 55-plus K1 1000m.

- Will Pittar was second in the B Final of the u18 men's K1 1000m.

BIG WEEKEND: Poverty Bay Kayak Club paddler Zach Ferkins blew away the opposition in the K1 1000m on Saturday and was a close second in the 500m race yesterday. Pictures by Vera Bucsu
NECK AND NECK: Lisa Carrington (nearest camera) is just ahead of Caitlin Ryan as they race in the final of the open women's K1 500 metres in the canoe sprint championships at Lake Karapiro yesterday.