Log In

Reset Password

On the Mats – Indoor bowls news

The 2019 indoor bowls season rolls around tomorrow, with the centre opening trios at the Waerenga a Hika Hall.

Last year’s champions — Lola Bayram, Warren Edlin and Bryan Pulley — will not be defending their title as a team, with only Pulley playing. He will team with young hotshots Nathan Trowell and Mathew Foster.

The season is gearing up to be busy, with two new national events introduced — the five-year-and-under New Zealand pairs, which is a straight zone final in Whakatane in May, and a New Zealand masters fours event for players over 60.

The first representative event will be contested on March 30, and new selector Malcolm Trowell has gone for a mixture of experience and youth to face Hawke’s Bay for the Presidents Trophy.

Team members are Arnold Hutchings, Byran Pulley, Sian Williams, Nanette Treloar; Warren Gibb, Lois Lamont, Matthew Foster, Hina Preddy; Bruce Easton, Ian Greeks, Jay Casey, Pauleen Stone; Mal Trowell, Nathan Trowell, Akuhata Keelan, Dylan Foster. Manager/reserve: Warren Edlin.

Six of the team are under the age of 16.

The team will play singles, pairs and fours over two days, with Poverty Bay the holders of the trophy.