Log In

Reset Password

Gisborne - East Coast golf roundup

Gisborne ParkTE Puia Springs’ courier company co-owner Aomihi Cook delivered herself something special in the East Coast Fire Brigades Tournament on Sunday.

Cook won the Fire Brigade members’ best net trophy with 107-43-64, her round highlighted by a single par on the par-3 14th.

Cook also led Robyn Ngatai and Doreen Goldsmith to victory in the brigade team of three section.

Mahia’s Wayne Weshe was also a double winner. His 79-15-64, for 44 points, won the stableford and he combined with Wade Wesche to collect the best pair honours.

Ray Shields (78) posted the best gross and Terry Thomas’s 125 earned him the most golf title.

Among the rest of the 124-strong field, the gross winners were William Brown (men’s A section, 71); Glen McKinnon (B section, 82); Gary Cunningham (C section, 90); Jo Kerr (women, 84).

Net winners were Warren Chung (men’s A section, 65); Norm Marsters (B section, 62); Geoff Ramsay (C section, 96); Georgina Roberts (women, 67).

Stableford winners were Rob Taylor (men’s A section, 43); Tony Leggett (B section, 40); Ike Ruru (C section, 39); Robyn Ngatai (women, 41).

Saturday — Men’s stableford: B Huhu 40, H Schreiber 38.

LGU, silver division: J Foot 91-16-75.

Bronze 1: S Paku 91-22-69.

Bronze 2: K Papuni 120-42-78.

WEDNESDAY (Jan 30) — Women’s hidden holes, winner: P Shaw.

Drawn two: P Shaw.

Tuesday (Jan 29) — Veteran men’s stableford: J McGann 40, R McGann 39, E Morley 37, H White 37, E Parkin 36, P Simpson 35, A Nairne 35.

COMING UP: SATURDAY, get to know your fellow member day, 9am shotgun start.

Poverty BayA BAD knee proved no hindrance score-wise to Don Wright as he blazed his way to victory in the men’s competition on Sunday.

Wright, awaiting a knee operation, had his best round in over two years — 81-18-63, for 45 points — to win division two.

He headed off Kim Gunness and Bruce Talbot, both on 42.

Phil Wauchop ended a streak of 22 rounds of 100-plus on Saturday. His 96-32-64, for 44 points, was rewarded with the division 2 men’s stableford win.

Darren Patumaka slipped under 80 for the first time since March of last year in winning division 1 with 78-12-66, for 42.

A meet the new members five-hole event (5.30pm report, 5.45pm tee-off) is being held tomorrow.

The new members will play with some of the club’s regular players, followed by a barbecue meal and drinks on the 19th.

All members are welcome to take part. Contact John van Helden or the pro shop for more details.

There are spaces available for the Wharerata Shield Challenge at Mahia on Sunday, February 17. Contact Paul Rickard for more details.

SUNDAY — Men’s stableford, division 1: M Norman 42, P Stewart 40.

Division 2: D Wright 45, K Gunness 42, B Talbot 42, B Simpson 41, D Pirimona 40.

Twos: G. Morley

Approach: J. Bryden.

Saturday — Men’s stableford, division 1: D Patumaka 42, C Poole 37, J McGregor 36.

Division 2: P Wauchop 44, B Talbot 38, A Destry 38.

Twos: P Clayton, D Bush.

Approach: D Bush.

THURSDAY (Jan 31) — Men’s stableford, division 1: P Clayton 36, M Armstrong 36, B Colbert 36, C Payn 35, G Clapham 35.

Division 2: P Goodwin 38, J Williams 38, H Johanson 36, A Destry 36, D Pirimona 36.

Twos: D. Bush

Nearest to pin: M. Armstrong.

PatutahiJAN Ewart had to settle for second on Sunday — but not Tuesday.

Ewart followed up her women’s net runner-up score of 66 with a stableford-winning 90-26-64, for 43 points.

Wayne Baty made his second round of the year a winning one. He shot 76-13-63 to claim the men’s 0-16 net on Sunday.

Mo Farmer was Mr Consistency in winning the 17+ men’s net with 87-23-64, including 13 bogeys.

Jandy Winiata’s 66 won the women’s net.

Mike de Luze was on fire in the nine-hole net yesterday. He won the junior men’s division with 27.

Twenty-five point was the winning score in the Friday meat pack nine-hole stableford — Oz Willimott topping the seniors and Don Stevens the juniors.

WEDNESDAY — Nine-hole net, senior men: G Brown 32, J Devery 32, A Hindmarsh 32.

Junior men: M de Luze 27, D Quinn 29, J Neilson 31.

Women: S Pohatu 35.

Twos: G Brown, W Brown.

TUESDAY — Women’s stableford: J Ewart 90-26-64, 43; M Winiata 99-31-68, 39.

SUNDAY — Men’s net, 0-16: W Baty 63, T Green 65, G Brown 66, P Johnston 67.

17+: M Farmer 64, J Blair 67, G Watson 67, C Parker 68.

Women’s net: J Winiata 66, J Ewart 68.

Twos: T Hindmarsh, D Russell (eagle).

Jackpot: T Hindmarsh.

FRIDAY — Meat pack nine-hole stableford, senior division: O Willimott 25, Z Rolls 23, A Nimmo 22, P Summersby 22.

Junior division: D Stevens 25, D Quinn 24, T Coutts 23, D Maloy 22.

WaikohuWAIKOHU’S open opening day tournament is on Saturday.

Mixed Canadian foursomes and men’s division.

Cup of tea at 10.30am, tee-off at 11.30.

Inquiries to Tama Brown (862 3525).

Note the club does not have eftpos.

Te Puia SpringsThe Peter Rouse Memorial tournament scheduled for Sunday has been postponed to Sunday, March 3.

File picture