Log In

Reset Password

Poverty Bay - East Coast golf roundup

Poverty BayVIV Bell and Jan Steele fought back from the brink of defeat to win the Kahlenberg Cup women’s pairs final on Tuesday.

In tough winter conditions, Bell and Steele won the last four holes to defeat club president Miggles Shanks and defending champion Peri Gayford on the 18th.

It was the third time Steele had won the popular title — one of those times was with Shanks — and the first for Bell.

The winners trailed 1-down after nine holes, then got it back to all-square only for Shanks and Gayford to win three holes in a row to be 3-up with four to play.

One-hundred on the dot earned Leigh Fletcher the top title at the Amcal Pharmacy 53/Beaufoy women’s open yesterday.

The home-course player shot 100-30-70 to win the overall gross by two strokes from Wairoa’s Kodee Green, who very nearly won the gross (82-10-72).

That honour instead went to Hawke’s Bay-Poverty Bay representative Tessa McDonald, with an 81.

Gisborne Park’s Wiki Morrissey won the division 1 stableford with 38 points while Sharon Bramwell won division 2 with 37.

A streak of 24 century-plus 18-hole scores dating back to April 30 of last year ended for Alan Baldwin on Sunday.

Baldwin had monkey claws embedded in his back but finally shrugged off the tenacious little varmint with a division 2 stableford-winning 96-30-66, for 43 points.

Coincidentally, just three days earlier, Paul Shanks did the same thing on his way to winning the men’s par last Thursday with 97-31-66, 6-up on the card.

Shanks had not broken 100 since November 17, 2016, and his wait, while significantly longer than Baldwin’s, was the same in rounds played (not counting nine-hole scores) — 24.

Sam Willock was second, also on 6-up, his 87-22-65 his low round at the Bay since September 2016.

WEDNESDAY — Amcal Pharmacy 53/Beaufoy women’s open tournament, overall net: L Fletcher 70 from K Green 72.

Division 1, gross: T McDonald 81.

Stableford: W Morrissey 38, M Marino 37, J Steele 37, K Crosby 36, M Francois 33, V Bell 33, D Kirkpatrick 32, MJ Bloem 31.

Division 2, gross: R Hiko 101.

Stableford: S Bramwell 37, P Gayford 35, J Tietjen 34, I McKinnon 33, T Waru 33, H Humble 32, S Kemp 31, J Bell 31.

9-hole stableford: L Daniels 18, R Dymock 17, C Skuse 16.

Closest to line: A Cook.

Approaches: K Green, R Ngatai, J Loffler.

Twos: V Bell 2, T Smith, K Green.

Tuesday — Kahlenberg Cup women’s pairs final: V Bell/J. Steele def M Shanks/P Gayford.

Plate final: T Lewis/F Pell def L Holmberg/L Shepherd.

SUNDAY — Men’s stableford, division 1: P Grogan 40, R Gibson 38, A Reedy 36, T Goldsmith 35.

Division 2: A Baldwin 43, P Rickard 39, B Brown 37, N Jones 36.

Twos: R Gibson, N Jones.

Approach: P Grogan.

SATURDAY — Men’s stableford, division 1: V Richardson 36, P Butler 35.

Division 2: B Read 35, J McGregor 33.

Approach: D Pirimona.

THURSDAY (May 24) — Men’s par: P Shanks +6, S Willock +6, I Kirkpatrick+4, D Griffin +1, C Christie sq, M Smith sq, M Armstrong sq, C Evans sq, M Dodgshun sq, W Mortleman -1.

Twos: J. Pittar, D. Griffin.

Approach: M. Dodgshun.

COMING UP: SUNDAY, BMS Twenty Two Above Queen’s Birthday Weekend open tournament, first 144 paid entries, stableford and gross, assemble at 9am for 9.30am shotgun start, entries to pro shop or book online on www.golf.co.nz in the mygolf section.

PatutahiA TOP Patutahi golfer of the past beat a gun player of the present to decide the 2018 women’s shootout.

Sheree Gray (off a 15-handicap) knocked out Skylah Pohatu (6) in a putt-off on the 18th hole to top the 11-woman field.

Women’s club captain Denise Johnston was third.

The order of elimination was Rhonda Maloy, Rae Burgess, Materoa Philip, Kelly Utting, Helen Humble, Jandy Winiata, Helen Pomana, Marg Alley, Denise Johnston and Pohatu.

SUNDAY — Men’s stableford, senior division: A Hindmarsh 86-17-69, 37; J Priestley 78-9-69, 36; S Pohatu 79-8-71, 35.

Junior men: K Philip 93-20-73, 33; H Harris 98-22-76, 30; B Pohatu 99-22-77, 30.

Women’s stableford: D Johnston 92-23-79, 28; S Gray 94-15-79, 28; H Pomana 91-11-80, 27.

FRIDAY — Meat pack nine-hole stableford, senior division: B Williams 23, G Tattersfield 23, P Harrison 23, W Brown 21, M Smith 21.

Junior division: L Jamieson 22, T Berry 22, B Tietjen 18 on c/b.

The draw for the first round of the Te Kani Pere men’s matchplay is – P Molloy (No.1 qualifier) v T Green (16), S Pohatu (9) v R Pardoe (8), C Beattie (5) v G Tattersfield (12), S Skudder (13) v J Brown (4), A Hindmarsh (3) v T Cave (14), B Wallace (11) v G Watson (6), B McKenzie (7) v K Philip (10), M Pohatu (15) v W Baty (2).

Gisborne ParkMIKE Hutton will be keen to convert his Tuesday veteran men’s stableford form of last week to cup success this weekend.

Hutton, who won the May 22 competition with 41 points, is in matchplay action on Sunday.

He and partner Glen McKinnon take on Jack Glassford and Roger Kelso in the final of the Turanganui Cup — one of two subsidiary trophies to the Te Kanawa Cup.

The other is the Fletcher Cup. Cliff Nepe and John Collier are in the final and their opponents will be sorted in a Saturday semifinal between Ray Grace and Terry Pointon and Evan Parkin and Horst Schreiber.

The premier trophy, the Te Kanawa Cup, pits Brad Reynolds and Tony Leggett against Butch Atkins and Wayne McHugh.

Electrinet Park results, SUNDAY — Men’s stableford: T Pointon 85-13-72, 36.

Women’s net: S Paku 74.

Drawn two: M Alley.

TUESDAY (May 22) — Veteran men’s stableford: M Hutton 41, B Cox 40, G Sharp 40, P Koorey 40, C Palmer 38, P Mitchell 38.

The finals of the Te Kanawa, Fletcher and Turanganui cups are on SUNDAY. The draw is — SATURDAY, Fletcher Cup semifinal, No.1 tee, 8.42am: R Grace/T Pointon v E Parkin/H Schreiber.

SUNDAY, No.1 tee, Turanganui Cup final – 9am: M Hutton/G McKinnon v J Glassford/R Kelso.

Fletcher Cup final – 9.06: C Nepe/J Collier v winners of Saturday semifinal.

Te Kanawa Cup final - 9.12: B Reynolds/T Leggett v B Atkins/W McHugh.

COMING UP: MONDAY, voucher tournament, shotgun start at 10am.

TahungaTHE Stockies and Cockies golf day is at Tahunga on Friday, June 15.

Format is nine-hole ambrose for golfers and non-golfers alike.

Lunch is at 12.30pm and tee-off is at 1pm, followed by dinner and prizegiving.

Inquiries to Tom Sherratt (867-0807) and Casey Maddock (867-0234) or email tahunga@golf.co.nz

The club does not have eftpos.

Tolaga BayTHELMA Waru was in sensational form in the women’s stableford at the weekend, carding 97-36-61, for 47 points.

Golf Roundup compiled and edited by Chris Taewa. If you have a story, tournament to promote or results you wish to have printed, contact The Gisborne Herald at 869-0633 or email sports@gisborneherald.co.nz

File picture
File picture