Log In

Reset Password

Year of nurses and midwives

2020 is the year to honour the work of nurses and midwives.

The World Health Organisation has made 2020 the International Year of the Nurse and the Midwife.

2020 is the 200th anniversary of the birth of Florence Nightingale, one of the founders of modern nursing.

In Aotearoa, 2020 will be a year of acknowledging nurses who have made a contribution to nursing and healthcare, including indigenous Maori nurses.

Nursing and midwifery are distinct professions and each will be celebrating via their respective entities and organisations.

Nurses working throughout New Zealand make up the largest health workforce in the country.

There are more than 56,000 nurses in the health workforce, making a difference everyday to the lives of all New Zealanders.

Every day, New Zealand midwives welcome around 168 new babies into the world.

Midwives are at the birth of every baby — in homes, in primary maternity units; in hospitals.

Midwives stand alongside women, partners and whanau.

They are wise companions on a universal journey that begins in pregnancy, continues with the birth of a baby and culminates when the woman and her baby are transferred to Well Child care.

In Gisborne, the Nurses and Midwives of Tairawhiti (NAMOT) Awards will celebrate and commemorate achievements from the past 12 months.

Nursing logo