Log In

Reset Password

And still No.1

Horouta Waka Hoe continued its phenomenal record at the Aotearoa national waka ama sprint nationals, which concluded at Lake Karapiro yesterday.

And leading the yellow singlet charge once again were outstanding premier women's crew Kaiarahi Toa, pictured winning one of two W6 gold medals on the final day.

The Kiwi Campbell-led crew helped Horouta to its ninth overall club title in the 10 years the title has been presented. Campbell's contribution to the sport was recognised with her induction into the Waka Ama NZ Hall of Fame, alongside long-time volunteer Tim Marshall of Gisborne.

Another highly successful national champs featured over 3900 paddlers from 68 clubs, 406 races, 13,000-plus spectators and 150 volunteers.

See more on the champs in the sports section here.

Picture by Garrick Cameron

  1. Vicky Henry, Hamilton says:

    Woah cool ladies